Latest NewsNews Joplin MOTrending

Missouri congressional map halted in the state senate

The battle for Missouri’s congressional map update rages on in the state senate. The map, which was approved by the House on Monday, has been stalled today during senate deliberations when Senator Bill Eigel of Weldon Spring filibustered an unrelated heath care bill.

Committees could not meet while Eigel was speaking and so the senate redistricting committee was unable to convene for a hearing regarding the House map. As the clock ticks on they get closer to that Friday 6PM deadline. Rep. Peggy McGaugh said that if the maps are approved on time they will be accessible by election authorities on Monday.

Boone County Clerk Brianna Lennon noted the time crunch saying, “If the map passes Friday & we get the GIS data Monday, counties have 1 week to move voters to their new districts in the state voter reg system…We can’t change districts once we start creating the August election on May 24. And absentee ballots need to be ready June 17.”

The 1st District, held by Rep. Cori Bush, D-St. Louis, would include the city of St. Louis, north St. Louis County as well as parts of mid- and south St. Louis County.

The 2nd District, held by Rep. Ann Wager, R-Ballwin, would cover Richmond Heights all the way west to Warren and Franklin counties.

The 3rd District, held by Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer, R-St. Elizabeth, would have eastern St. Charles County all the way west to Cooper County, in mid-Missouri.

If approved by the senate the map would most likely result in six republicans and two democrats serving on behalf of Missouri in the US House.

Show More
Back to top button