BreakingKZRG NewsLatest NewsLocal InterestsNews Joplin MONewstalk KZRGTrending

New-Mac Electric draws 600 vehicles for second year in a row

Approximately 1,500 people attended in over 600 vehicles as New-Mac Electric Cooperative held a drive-through Special Meeting for the second consecutive year on Oct. 30 at Crowder College’s Neosho campus.

For the sake of COVID-19 mitigation, the co-op elected to again have a “Special” Meeting instead of an official “Annual” Meeting. New-Mac saw a steady stream of traffic come through from 8 till 11 a.m. on that Saturday morning. Those who registered at the event received a $20 electric credit to their main membership account and were put in a drawing for five $250 and ten $100 electric credits.

Winners will be notified by phone on Nov. 1.

Participants also had the opportunity to vote for four seats on the co-op’s Board of Directors. Winning three-year terms on the nine-member board were incumbents Beryl Kennedy (District 4), Billy P. White (District 5) and Jamey Cope (District 9). Incumbent Bruce Youngblood was elected to a two-year term for District 1.

Members also approved three proposed amendments to the cooperative’s bylaws. Two of the changes provide for heightened efficiency and flexibility of format with future annual meetings, and the third standardized bylaw language with state and federal laws.

Prior to the meeting, New-Mac sent out capital credit checks to the membership of nearly $1.3 million. Those receiving checks were those who were members of New-Mac Electric in 2000. This marks the 24th year in a row that New-Mac has retired capital credits to members, totaling over $25 million.

New-Mac Electric, headquartered in Neosho, Mo., serves over 18,000 member accounts primarily inNewton, McDonald and Jasper Counties.

Show More
Back to top button