BreakingKZRG NewsLatest NewsNews Joplin MONewstalk KZRGTrending

10 digit dialing begins today in Missouri, Kansas, Arkansas

The magic number is now 10.

As of today, callers have to dial the three digit area code plus the number to make local telephone calls.

The change affects Missouri, Kansas and Arkansas but not the state of Oklahoma.

The Federal Communications Commission approved the change last year along with a new 988 national suicide prevention number.

Every customer with the 314, 417, 660, and 816 area codes has to change to mandatory 10-digit dialing for local calls.

Dialing 7-digits for local calls is prohibited.

Show More
Back to top button