News Joplin MOTrending

Missouri Voters Re-Elect Seven Incumbents to Congress and make history

Missouri Secretary of State Jay Ashcroft is reporting an unofficial turnout in yesterday’s election of just over 70 percent of voters in Missouri. And those voters have re-elected seven incumbents to Congress while making state history along the way.

Missouri voters re-elected Kansas City Democratic Congressman Emanuel Cleaver. They also re-elected Republicans Ann Wagner of Ballwin, St. Elizabeth’s Blaine Luetkemeyer, Harrisonville’s Vicky Hartzler, Salem’s Jason Smith, Billy Long of Springfield, and Sam Graves of Tarkio, who’s the new dean of the delegation.

Voters also voted to keep attorney general, secretary of state, treasurer, lieutenant governor and governor in their respective positions.

And in St Louis, Cori Bush was elected to Congress, representing St. Louis City and County. She will be the first African-American female to represent Missouri in Congress.

Local election officials have until December the 8th to certify state election results.


Show More
Back to top button