COVID-19News Joplin MOTrending

Oklahoma added to a Chicago travel quarantine order

Chicago has added two additional states to its travel order, which requires travelers visiting or returning to the city from certain states to quarantine for 14 days.Beginning Friday, the order will now include Oklahoma and Iowa.

Chicago first issued an emergency travel order for 15 states just before the Fourth of July holiday weekend. The order took effect on July 6.

States included in the order at that time were: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Utah.

Chicago Department of Public Health Commissioner Dr. Allison Arwady said travelers entering or returning to Chicago from “states experiencing a surge in new COVID-19 cases” will need to quarantine “for a 14-day period from the time of last contact within the identified state.”

The order is set to remain in effect until further notice and the list of states is slated to be evaluated every Tuesday. Failure to comply could cost the violator up to 500 bucks…. Per day.

Show More
Back to top button