Featured SliderState and Local News

Mercy Nurses Obtain National Advanced Certifications

Ten nurses at Mercy Hospital Joplin have gone the extra mile in providing emergency and trauma care by obtaining national advanced certification. These ER nurses were recognized Thursday, and received a special black coat with their name and certification on it, which is similar to the white coat ceremony for new medical school students. Only 1,500 nurses across the U.S have obtained the Trauma Certified Registered Nurse status, which requires advanced studies and board examination.

Certified emergency nurse (CEN) is a national board certification that requires an advanced level of clinical expertise. Trauma certified registered nurse (TCRN) is a new national board certification specific to trauma and also requires an advanced level of clinical expertise.

Shilo Cook obtained both certifications. Jessica Chorum, Andrea Kew, Korissa Perrodin, Jennifer Skaggs and Scarlett Tomasi received CEN certification. Steve Cathers, Michelle Demery-Powell, Donna Hughes and Janna Spurlin received TCRN certification.

From left are Andrea Kew, Scarlett Tomasi, Janna Spurlin, Korissa Perrodin, Jenny Skaggs, Jessica Chorum, Michelle Demery-Powell and Donna Hughes. Shilo Cook and Steve Cathers are not shown. Photo courtesy of Mercy
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *